Katy by Jacqueline Wilson Book Review

Katy’s life changes in dramatic and unexpected ways after a serious accident.

Inspired by the classic novel, What Katy Did, Jacqueline Wilson creates an irresistible twenty-first-century heroine. Fans of Hetty Feather and Tracy Beaker will fall in love with Katy and her family too.

What on earth is Katy going to do after her accident? Fans of What Katy Did will instantly recognise this story, I have to admit to not having read it. If I did I can’t quite place myself. The idea and story is the same but Jacqueline Wilson has dusted it off and put a new spin on it making Katy a 21st century heroine.

Of course I read it like I did with Rent a Bridesmaid (these do count towards my Goodreads goal don’t they). Kind of getting a taste for Jacqueline Wilson I have to admit and this one didn’t disappoint for me either. Taking on a more serious subject than the above story. Katy is told in the first person so you get to experience the story from the main protagonist. You go through all the ups and downs, many, many downs as Katie is prone to getting into quite a bit of trouble. For girls of the same age this is perfect as Katy is very relatable. There are a lot of similarities between her and Olivia. Olivia noticed this too and I think this made Katy more likeable. We all know someone like this don’t we! Young or old.

This of course makes for an entertaining read as we follow Katy on her escapades and the resulting fall out and dramas. I mean who hasn’t been tempted to throw their arch nemesis clothes in the swimming pool! But then the accident happens. I think this upset Olivia a little. There was a noticeable change in tone to the story. Katy’s subsequent journey is fraught with challenges but you see her courage shine through proving that just because you have a disability you don’t have to give up on your life or your dreams.

Katy is recommended for ages 7-9 and I think for Olivia she wouldn’t have been able to read this at 7 but I know some kids (I was one of them) would have no issue at all with the 400+ pages. Olivia found the subject of the book harder to read as it wasn’t all light and fluffy. That being said this is a lot different to her usual picks. From a parents point of view the subject is covered really well and I think it goes a long way to helping younger kids understand a physical disability a bit better. Katy is a strong character and the humour helps the book to keep it a light fun read. I don’t know about Olivia but I really enjoyed it myself!

Olivia’s Verdict: I really liked reading about Katy she is funny and a bit crazy like me. Katy is always getting into trouble but I felt really sad when she had her accident. I loved Katy’s present of her dad at the end it was so totally her and I would like to read more about her as she was really fun.

Katy is available to buy from Amazon (Kindle £3.99, Hardback £6.49 and Paperback £3.49)

*Disclaimer: We were gifted a copy of Katy to read and give our honest opinions (I may be getting too engrossed in kids books but it’s a nice change for me)*

 

Spread the love
  •  
  • 10
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 2
  •  
  •  
    12
    Shares

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.