Competitions, Reviews

Callanetics Countdown Review & Giveaway

It’s safe to say I have been out of the exercise game for a while now. With various joint and back issues hindering me I have been taking it easy on the workout front. But 2017 is the year for doing. Not just talking about doing something actually doing it. So when the option arose to review a DVD I thought, yeah OK let’s do this! Callantics is a new workout for me and not something I have tried before. No longer confined to the ’80s with leg warmers and flashbacks of Jane Fondaesque movements. Callantics is back for 2017. Read on for my Callantics Countdown review.

callanetics countdown review picture of DVD cover

Overview

Callanetics is a series of stretching and contracting exercises that activate the body s largest muscles groups, using tiny, gentle, precise movements, called pulses. These pulses reach deep into the muscles to give you a strong, firm body, without adding bulk.

Callanetics Countdown Review.

I honestly didn’t know what to expect for my first time. A complete Callantics virgin. I was grateful it wasn’t a full aerobics fest but my previous attempts at yoga/pilates/Pi-Yo laid bare just how inflexible I actually was. Sure I could bounce around to an energetic 20 min HIIT workout but could I do controlled slow movements and stretching and would it hurt?

I was pleasantly shocked. Slow paced and calming but not ineffective, not by a long shot. Split into 3 sections to gradually take you to progressively more challenging moves. For me the challenge was keeping the movements small and controlled. Used to bigger movements for more impact, I had to wonder if these small repetitive pulses and stretches would actually do anything under my excess winter layers.

I got my answer the very next day. Even laughing hurt. My abs definitely feeling it the next day and I looked forward to getting back to it once more. I think I have a new favourite workout. Sure it won’t do as much to me and my excess layers cardio wise in regards to burning a lot of fat, but for me, it was gentle on my old joints and worked great as a toning workout for core and stability.

Would I Recommend It?

If you are looking for a workout that’s easy and enjoyable and doesn’t make you feel like you will collapse afterwards then you need to try this. It is very effective and I have no doubt following it completely through the 30 days will do wonders for me. For faster weight loss/fat burning I would have no qualms in using this alongside a high impact cardio workout but equally, it will be effective on it own.

Callentics Countdown – 30 Days To A More Beautiful Body is now available to buy. Currently £12.99 on Amazon.

*Disclaimer: I was provided with a copy of the DVD mentioned for purpose of this post. All thoughts and views are my own*
Win A Copy Of Callantics Countdown

If you would like to try this yourself then enter my competition to win yourself a copy and enjoy the benefits you can gain from a Callantics workout.

T’s & C’s

The prize is one copy of Callantics Countdown on DVD as mentioned in the above review. Over 16’s in the UK mainland only. The prize will be directly dispatched from the competition sponser. The competition will run from 23/01/17 to 14/02/17. The winner will contacted within 5 days of the competition ending and has 28 days to respond. Please allow up to 28 days for delivery. Please enter all entry options correctly. Any incorrect entries will be void. Please answer the mandatory question, Did you make any new years resolutions? All other entry options are optional. 

callantics dvd

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

110 Comments

  1. Scott Fallon

    February 14, 2017 at 11:04 pm

    Learning to drive

  2. Dominique Clarke

    February 14, 2017 at 10:43 pm

    To go for more walks with my young family.

  3. ellie spider

    February 14, 2017 at 10:39 pm

    mine was to get fitter and healthier

  4. Lisa Mauchline

    February 14, 2017 at 8:30 pm

    To make more homemade meals for my family

  5. Ben Robb

    February 14, 2017 at 8:13 pm

    to get fit + healthy in 2017

  6. Sheila Mckenna

    February 14, 2017 at 4:10 pm

    Mine was no more chocolates, haha it only lasted 2 days

  7. DENISE WILDEN

    February 14, 2017 at 4:03 pm

    To try and get fitter so I can keep up with my daughters

  8. Kyomi Johnson

    February 14, 2017 at 3:20 pm

    To keep on fighting cancer and get through the rest of my chemotherapy treatment.

  9. Lyndsey Bruce

    February 14, 2017 at 3:07 pm

    I want to lose a stone by April – I’m already half way there! 🙂

  10. Lara Latchem

    February 14, 2017 at 12:16 pm

    Mine was to spend more quality time with the kids

  11. paula cheadle

    February 14, 2017 at 11:52 am

    to have more time for my self

  12. Karen Painter

    February 14, 2017 at 8:36 am

    No, I’ve given up on resolutions as I never tend to keep them for more than a week or two

  13. Lynsey Buchanan

    February 14, 2017 at 12:20 am

    My New Years Resolution was to work and study hard

  14. Carol Phile

    February 13, 2017 at 9:43 pm

    To try to always look forward

  15. Diana

    February 13, 2017 at 9:30 pm

    Just to try be more happy

  16. beky austerberry

    February 13, 2017 at 7:19 pm

    Yes – to pass my driving test

  17. Lauren Old

    February 13, 2017 at 6:49 pm

    I did, to get more fit, so far not happening!

  18. Lisa Houston

    February 13, 2017 at 6:12 pm

    To be more organised and exercise 3 times a week. i love callanetics. it transformed my body back in the 90’s after my first baby. had it on video. missed it and would love to try it again

  19. Kim Styles

    February 13, 2017 at 5:57 pm

    Yes to lose more weight- but I need a bit of a boost this might just do it!!

  20. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)

    February 13, 2017 at 3:30 pm

    To lose lots of weight!

  21. Karen R

    February 13, 2017 at 10:58 am

    I don’t make resolutions. I try to eat well, and get enough exercise all year round 🙂

  22. LAURA WHEATLEY

    February 12, 2017 at 8:16 pm

    Yes, i need to lose weight (a lot of it) so I am eating healthy and trying to up the fitness. I have lost 1 stone, 7 to go

  23. Lindsay Taylor

    February 12, 2017 at 8:07 am

    I made my annual resolution of losing weight, eating healthily and doing more exercise!

  24. Fiona Taylor

    February 11, 2017 at 5:49 pm

    This is just what I need to help with my new healthy lifestyle! I’m in the process of losing 4 stone, I’m eating whole foods and staying away from processed foods, chocolates etc. I’ve been looking for an exercise routine to do at home and would love to try this DVD!

  25. ADEINNE TONNER

    February 9, 2017 at 3:35 pm

    My new years resolution was to lose weight and be more fit so i can join in with more active activities with my family instead of just watching them.

  26. carole n

    February 9, 2017 at 1:19 pm

    to try and walk more to keep fit

  27. Rebecca Williams

    February 8, 2017 at 8:18 pm

    I would like to lose some weight and get fit 🙂

  28. Abigail Cullen

    February 8, 2017 at 6:50 pm

    To get fitter and lose those extra pounds.

  29. danielle pooley

    February 8, 2017 at 9:54 am

    To finish the book im writting.

  30. Mickie Bull

    February 7, 2017 at 5:59 pm

    Stop smoking, alcohol and start running!

  31. Ema J Lowe

    February 7, 2017 at 11:17 am

    I didn’t make one, as I can never keep it

  32. Mary H

    February 7, 2017 at 8:23 am

    My resolution was to take up yoga. I’m a few weeks in and I absolutely love it. I only wish I started years ago.

  33. Linda Griffiths

    February 6, 2017 at 10:32 pm

    I want to eat healthier

  34. Fiona jk42

    February 6, 2017 at 6:07 pm

    I made a new year’s resolution to go for a run several times a week. I managed 6 runs before an old knee injury reappeared and grounded me. I’ve now been told by the doctor that I should choose a different type of exercise, otherwise I’ll keep aggravating the problem. So this DVD could be just what I need.

  35. Sandra Fortune

    February 6, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    I’m on a diet plan & hope to drop 2-3 dress sizes for my daughters Wedding early December. I want to get into a nice chic outfit.

  36. Dale Dow

    February 6, 2017 at 12:53 pm

    I did, and I STILL haven’t started it!

  37. Dawn Wilkinson

    February 6, 2017 at 7:14 am

    I did make a resolution to make better food choices – I have had mixed success but intend to keep trying.

  38. Kirsty Fox

    February 5, 2017 at 10:32 pm

    Yes the same one I make every year, to lose weight. Aslo to spend weekends having fun adventures with my husband and kids.

  39. Eileen Tingle

    February 5, 2017 at 8:06 pm

    I want to lose a stone

  40. Michelle lintern

    February 5, 2017 at 7:22 pm

    Yes, not to stress about things out of my control

  41. Joanna Ford

    February 5, 2017 at 2:39 pm

    Yes to try and make sure that I eat my 5 portions of fruit and vegetable a day!

  42. JULIE WARD

    February 4, 2017 at 11:00 pm

    No, but I should have made one not to get man flu, bit late now

  43. Carly Belsey

    February 4, 2017 at 7:31 pm

    To give up caffeine, im slowly starting to let it creep back into my life again, I need to stop!

  44. Sirley Young

    February 4, 2017 at 9:36 am

    I’m determined to lose the baby weight and I also vowed to crochet 50 octopus toys for preemies 🙂

  45. Sarahann Tonner

    February 3, 2017 at 8:40 pm

    My resolutions are to drink more water and run my first marathon this year!

  46. Michelle Ferguson

    February 3, 2017 at 7:43 pm

    Only to spend less money this year

  47. Margaret GALLAGHER

    February 2, 2017 at 8:55 pm

    Dont make resolutions as such just anboutline of what id like to achieve and write on my journal how im doing -no such thing as failed -just updates -psychologically better for me

  48. Jo Carroll

    February 2, 2017 at 1:20 pm

    I’m old enough not to make any concrete New Year’s Resolutions as I’ve see too many of them bite the dust early in years gone by, but I do resolve myself to try to eat more healthily and take better care of a body with ever increasing miles on the clock 😉

  49. Charlotte Burford

    January 31, 2017 at 11:55 pm

    to cut down on all things sugary! Refined sugar in particular, Sugar is not needed in our daily diet so when I discovered this I decided to get it out of my life! (well try to..)

  50. Zoe Trelfa-Porter.

    January 31, 2017 at 11:28 am

    Yes to declutter the house

  51. janine atkin

    January 30, 2017 at 7:30 pm

    to eat less junk food

  52. Rebekah Jones

    January 30, 2017 at 1:33 am

    I did !! … To continue losing weight … I went gluten free in July last year and managed to lose 3 stone in 6 months and keep it off … I want to continue losing and tone up properly, which isnt easy as I have Fibromyalgia, M.E. and other conditions which hamper me some days xx

  53. Jo Hutchinson

    January 29, 2017 at 10:29 pm

    to live more healthily

  54. Andrea A

    January 29, 2017 at 6:33 pm

    I didn’t make any new year resolutions.

  55. Janice Dunn

    January 29, 2017 at 12:10 pm

    To sort out my finances and to live more healthily and reduce stress

  56. Nicola Andrijauskas

    January 29, 2017 at 8:16 am

    I didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions because I can never usually stick to them!

  57. elinor fisher

    January 28, 2017 at 1:05 pm

    To eat more healthily and I’ve lost 2 pounds so far: not by eating less or dieting, just by eating more healthy food.

  58. Solange

    January 28, 2017 at 3:18 am

    To lose weight and get fit.

  59. Christina Curtis

    January 28, 2017 at 2:26 am

    Yeh. I am eating healthier and would love to lose at least 2 stone.

  60. Lorna Ledger

    January 28, 2017 at 1:46 am

    I decided to swap full fat drinks for diet or water – still doing it 🙂

  61. sarah rees

    January 27, 2017 at 3:34 pm

    eat better and exercise more

  62. Tracy Newton

    January 27, 2017 at 3:17 pm

    I joined a gym and attend two sessions a week. But I am not loosing any weight yet

  63. Alice Dixon

    January 27, 2017 at 11:07 am

    Yes, to start a new hobby/sport to have some more me time x

  64. Mark Bradbury

    January 27, 2017 at 5:26 am

    To lose weight

  65. Lyndsey

    January 26, 2017 at 10:56 pm

    yes to go to the gym more and to eat more healthy

  66. Susan Smith

    January 26, 2017 at 8:19 pm

    To lose 4 stone in weight, and to exercise and tone up

  67. ELZBIETA ZNYK

    January 26, 2017 at 6:09 pm

    To lose weight

  68. kim plant

    January 26, 2017 at 10:54 am

    yes to keep healthy x

  69. michelle o'neill

    January 26, 2017 at 8:13 am

    to travel more x

  70. Debbie Henderson

    January 25, 2017 at 10:34 pm

    yes , to leave the car at home and walk more x

  71. Emma Rawlinson

    January 25, 2017 at 10:26 pm

    To walk more, to prepare more meals from scratch and to keep on top of chores to avoid them piling up

  72. KARL BOROWY

    January 25, 2017 at 10:10 pm

    walkmore

  73. Sarah Rees

    January 25, 2017 at 9:24 pm

    Yes to get fitter and lose weight – Its going well so far

  74. Keri Jones

    January 25, 2017 at 8:35 pm

    My new years resolution is to train more than once a week. I currently do a fitness class once a week, this dvd could be the other one 😉 x

  75. Julie Williams

    January 25, 2017 at 6:51 pm

    yes, drink and smoke less and eat healthy to lose some weight! going well so far – changed wine for vodka (less calories!) and lost 6lbs 🙂

  76. leanne weir

    January 25, 2017 at 2:53 pm

    I don’t make them as I have no willpower whatsoever

  77. Ruth Harwood

    January 25, 2017 at 9:53 am

    I simply promised that I would socialise more and not hide out at home so much!!

  78. Rich Tyler

    January 25, 2017 at 2:24 am

    To eat less junk food / be more healthy

  79. Lisa Wilkinson

    January 24, 2017 at 8:09 pm

    To get healthier

  80. Laura Todd

    January 24, 2017 at 7:50 pm

    Just to be more healthy

  81. Sheila Reeves

    January 24, 2017 at 12:04 pm

    To try and meal plan each week, hopefully saving money, being less wasteful and making healthier food choices

  82. Jennifer Haden

    January 24, 2017 at 8:40 am

    I don’t make them, I just try to do my best everyday x 🙂

  83. Harline Parkin

    January 24, 2017 at 4:09 am

    Yes Ive joined a gym and I’m loving it

  84. Spencer Broadley

    January 24, 2017 at 3:43 am

    To regain weight and energy following a bad illness in hospital for a month

  85. Natalie Crossan

    January 23, 2017 at 10:47 pm

    To eat more green veg xx

  86. Julie Henderson

    January 23, 2017 at 10:26 pm

    i didnt this year as getting divorced

  87. Jane

    January 23, 2017 at 9:43 pm

    Yes, to lose weight. 10 lbs gone already and already feeling happier

  88. claire woods

    January 23, 2017 at 9:13 pm

    To enjoy the year with some new experiences

  89. Susan Lloyd

    January 23, 2017 at 8:45 pm

    To eat more fruits and vegetables

  90. Kristy Brown

    January 23, 2017 at 8:43 pm

    None – but I do set myself targets such as a half marathon

  91. Laura Pritchard

    January 23, 2017 at 8:39 pm

    To finally lose my baby weight…my “baby” is 2 yrs old!

  92. iain maciver

    January 23, 2017 at 7:33 pm

    more walkung

  93. Rachel Craig

    January 23, 2017 at 7:24 pm

    I hadn’t , though when asked and encouraged settled on :- Will try new things, visit new places etc. As they do say that variety is the spice of life. Also we are advised / encouraged Life Long Learning. The Best way to learn being by Experience.

  94. Annette Oliver

    January 23, 2017 at 7:18 pm

    To walk more

  95. Liane Amos

    January 23, 2017 at 6:45 pm

    To help as many people as I can during2017

  96. simon tutthill

    January 23, 2017 at 6:37 pm

    it definately has to be to lose a few more pounds in weight

  97. Helen Thurston

    January 23, 2017 at 6:01 pm

    I don’t really make resolutions – I have aims – to try a new vegan recipe at least twice a month, cook more from scratch and use fresh, local organic produce where possible.

  98. Kim Neville

    January 23, 2017 at 4:52 pm

    To start my exercise regime up again to tone up in time for our holiday

  99. Helen W

    January 23, 2017 at 4:41 pm

    To eat more fruits and vegetables.

  100. Lisa Parker

    January 23, 2017 at 4:28 pm

    Mine is to be much kinder to myself x

  101. Judi Watson-Jones

    January 23, 2017 at 4:23 pm

    I don’t like New Year’s resolutions particularly as I always break them so instead last year I joined the gym in October rather than wait for Jan in the hope I would have some sort of routine sorted out as wanted to be healthier and fitter. It appears to be working as I am still going!!

    1. Rachel Craig

      January 23, 2017 at 7:30 pm

      Well Done!

  102. Danielle Spencer

    January 23, 2017 at 4:08 pm

    Just to be kinder to myself inside and out.

  103. ruth steel

    January 23, 2017 at 3:44 pm

    To really try a get a new job.

  104. Kelly Hooper

    January 23, 2017 at 3:22 pm

    To complete my emergency fund savings 🙂

    1. Rachel Craig

      January 23, 2017 at 7:37 pm

      How do you know when they are complete? There are so many financial commitments nowadays.Also more difficult to save anything given prices of essentials etc. Older generations were always keen on saving for a rainy day, being up to date with bills etc. I wonder how future generations will manage, especially given the vast competition they have to face, they are stressed with pressures, targets etc in Education, Employment and sometimes even hobbies.

  105. christine mcintyre

    January 23, 2017 at 3:14 pm

    Did callanetics when I was younger I now want to go back to it as it is a lot gentler than some of the classes around. The stretching makes you a lot more supple.

  106. Alison Johnson

    January 23, 2017 at 3:10 pm

    To eat healthier. Big fan of chocolate & cakes so trying to eat more fruit instead this year. I used to Callenetics years ago & I think I still have the Video somewhere – just nothing to play it on!

  107. Annabel Greaves

    January 23, 2017 at 2:56 pm

    I want to get on my bike with the family

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge